Tag Archive: Indie reviews

Cursor Major – Interloper (EP) (Bellicose Records)

Though some may recognise Andy Norton from the John Peel-championed act The Crimea, 2014 sees him front retro-wave rousing pop group, Cursor Major. Earlier this week, Cursor Major was named ‘New Band of… Continue reading

Teardrop Factory – Topshop (EP) (Faux Discx)

Teardrop Factory are a lo-fi, psychedelic infused, indie rock band from Brighton, UK. ‘Topshop’ is their debut EP and features 4 songs, clocking in at just 12 minutes. Each of the songs are… Continue reading

Oh So Quiet – Oh So Quiet (EP) (Cool For Cats)

Oh So Quiet are a Guildford U.K based indie-folk act consisting of siblings Lucas and Malena Zava, originally from Argentina. Their debut, self-titled EP features 5 songs beginning with the gorgeous, “Rain At Night”.… Continue reading

Spring Offensive – No Assets (single) (self-released)

U.K. indie-rock five-piece Spring Offensive were crowned BBC Introducing in Oxford’s Band of the Year 2012 and for good reason. There’s no band in the U.K., or possibly the entire universe, working harder than… Continue reading

The xx – Sunset (Jamie xx Remix) (single) (Young Turks Records)

‘Coexist’, the sophomore album from The xx, would have to have in our Top 3 favourite albums for 2012 (read our lengthy review). A stunningly, gorgeous and moving record. Before ‘Coexist’ (artwork above)… Continue reading

Peace – Delicious (EP) (Columbia / Sony Music UK)

Along with fellow UK newcomers Palma Violets, Birmingham indie-rock quartet Peace are being touted by critics and fans as the saviours of guitar music with the likes of NME and Hue Stephens at BBC Radio… Continue reading

Wild Combination – Great Expectations (single) (self released)

Wild Combination are a new indie-pop trio from Chelmsford, Essex and “Great Expectations” is the first single lifted from the band’s forthcoming 5-song EP entitled ‘Pulses’. The first thing you’re going to notice… Continue reading

Tame Impala – Feels Like We Only Go Backwards (single) (Modular Recordings)

Yeah, yeah we all know the facts: Fact #1: ”Lonerism’ by Australia’s Tame Impala  is on the top half of everybody’s ‘best of…’ lists for 2012. Fact #2: ‘Lonerism’, it’s been said, could… Continue reading

Among Brothers – I Am Certain / I Do Not Believe (Too Pure)

‘I Am Certain / I Do Not Believe’ is the new double A-side single from Cardiff-based five-piece, Among Brothers. On their previous recordings (the single “Keep” released in July 2012, single “Loved” released… Continue reading

Foals – Inhaler (single) (Transgressive Records / Warner Bros.)

Here it is folks, the first taste from the new upcoming Foals album. “Inhaler” is the first single from the band’s third album entitled ‘Holy Fire’ (cover art above) due for release in… Continue reading