Various Artists – Rough Trade Shops Field Day 2014 (album) (Rough Trade)

rough_trade_field_day_2014Last week we reviewed the brilliant and eclectic 2-CD compilation Rough Trade Shops put together to celebrate Primavera Sound 2014, and now they put their curation genius to compile a 2-CD set for Field Day 2104.

The Cadbury Milk Tray of compilations, this 2-disc set – though evidently heavy in electronic sounds this year – has something for everyone with enough variation and excitement to last summer time and beyond. In fact, this might be one of the best compilations we’ve heard this year with a captivating selection of electronic and psych curiosities.

On the new collection, Field Day’s founder Tom Baker says “It’s great to be able to take Field Day home with you in the form of a double CD, either it will conjure memories of a great day of music, feasting and ale drinking in London’s Victoria Park, or you could just discover new sounds to seek out on the day…. All in all it’s an honour to work with Rough Trade Shops again and put together a compilation of great music.” And with 2-and-half hours and 32 tracks showcasing the brilliance and variety of this festival, we here at Sound Advice could not agree more.

Disc one kicks things off in fine form with three smooth, soulful and heavily-percussive tracks beginning with the coolness and swagger of Africa Express present Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura with Seasons Change, ever so smoothly followed by Liverpool trio All We Are with the funky and sublime Feel Safe, and highlight track, the heartfelt Chamakay by Blood Orange.

Steering things in a whole other direction is Melbourne slacker singer/songwriter Courtney Barnett and the swinging Out of the Woodwork.

It’s then Daniel Avery’s turn to change things up again with the epic, retro-electro Detroit-techno-inspired Water Jump. Fellow Phantasy artist Erol Alkan delivers an equally captivating and complex electro house gem in the form of A Hold On Love while Derbyshire brother duo, Drenge turn up the volume on The Black Keys-esque Nothing.

Disc one then enters a mind-altering psych phase starting with the krautrock-like sounds of The Illuminations courtesy of James Holden, followed by the retro-psych of Uu Uu Uu by Jaakko Eino Kalevi, and lastly Aussie dance-psych act Jagwar Ma with the brilliant, Exercise.

Hyperdub artist Jessy Lanza then delivers some glacial R&B-inflected bass music with the excellent Kathy Lee, which is then perfectly followed by the curious and acclaimed by John Wizards. Meanwhile, Jon Hopkins serves up a compilation highlight with Collider – an epic and entrancing ambient house number.

Manchester’s Money starts off Disc two with their 2012 single So Long (God Is Dead) – a difficult to categorize epic, atmospheric indie number. We’re then treated to the title track off Neneh Cherry’s 2014 album, Blank Project. Produced by Four-Tet, this track showcases a new side to Neneh Cherry with sparse instrumentation and hints of electronica.

Four-Tet also lends his production genius to Omar Souleyman adding a truly unique spin to the compilation with his fusion of traditional Middle Eastern music and dance music. Who or what else could follow Omar Souleyman than the wonderfully odd, experimental electronic sounds of Oneohtrix Point Never?

After a slew of weird, wild, and wonderful pieces, the inclusion of PIXES classic Gigantic stands out for more reasons than one.

Weird Life by Canadian Producer/DJ Ryan Hemsworth is a lovely, flowing chill-out number, which then perfectly leads to SBTRKT gem Hold On (feat. Sampha).

The tech-house of Simian Mobile Disco is always a welcome addition to any compilation and on Sacrifice, the duo offer the most energetic tune of the 2-disc set. The juno, blips and bass of Algiers by Slackk offers more wonderfully unique electronica, as does the gorgeous and moving Lights by SOHN, which is another highlight inclusion.

The final 5 tracks mark another brilliant voyage into psychedelia. The Supertramp-esque sounds of Teleman marks the beginning followed by Temples, and The Horrors with I Can See Through You from their brilliant Skying album of 2011. Just as trippy is the peculiar nu-disco delights of Norway’s Todd Terje while Echo Park’s Warpaint bring to a close what an absolutely enthralling ride the past 2-and-a-half hours have been.

A must-have compilation for 2014, Rough Trade Shops Field Day 2014 is available from Rough Trade Shops and on-site at Field Day 2014 from May 19th. The compilation will then be released generally from June 2nd. Pre-order now.

Track listing is as follows:

1. Africa Express present Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura – Seasons Change
2. All We Are – Feel Safe
3. Blood Orange – Chamakay
4. Courtney Barnett – Out of the Woodwork
5. Daniel Avery – Water Jump
6. Danny Brown – 25 Bucks (featuring Purity Ring)
7. Drenge – Nothing
8. Erol Alkan – A Hold On Love
9. Holden – The Illuminations
10. Jaakko Eino Kalevi – Uu Uu Uu
11. Jagwar Ma – Exercise
12. Jessy Lanza – Kathy Lee
13. John Wizards -Tek Lek Schrempf
14. Jon Hopkins – Collider
15. Lunice – Hip Pop
16. Metronomy – The Upsetter

1. Money – So Long (God Is Dead)
2. Neneh Cherry – Blank Project
3. Omar Souleyman – Warni Warni
4. Oneohtrix Point Never – Problem Areas
5. Pixies – Gigantic
6. Ryan Hemsworth – Weird Life
7. SBTRKT – Hold On (feat. Sampha)
8. Seun Kuti & Fela’s Egypt 80 – Think Africa
9. Simian Mobile Disco – Sacrifice
10. Slackk – Algiers
11. SOHN – Lights
12. Teleman – 23 Floors Up
13. Temples – Move With The Season (Tom Furse Extrapolation Remix)
14. The Horrors – I Can See Through You
15. Todd Terje – Myggsommer
16. Warpaint – Disco/Very