Various Artists – Rough Trade Shops Primavera Sound 2014 (album) (Rough Trade)


For those attending the Primavera Sound music festival in Barcelona this year, the good folks at Rough Trade have compiled an essential soundtrack to help navigate through the sea of acts performing with two discs of must-see acts. For those of us unable to attend, Rough Trade has curated the next best thing with an eclectic mix showcasing the diversity and excellence of the festival.

2013 saw Rough Trade open a shop onsite for the first time and now, working together, Rough Trade and Primavera Sound have produced their first CD collaboration. Though it’d be impossible to include every artist worth seeing at this year’s festival, Rough Trade – as expected – have done a brilliant job assembling 31-tracks and just over 2 hours of wonderfully diverse sounds.

Since 2001, Primavera Sound has concentrated all its efforts in uniting the latest music from the independent scene together with already well-established artists, while embracing any style or genre in the live line-up, fundamentally looking for quality and essentially backing pop and rock, as well as underground electronic and dance music.

On Disc 1, must-hears include Julia Holter’s gorgeously atmospheric This Is A True Heart, the funky, jazzy afrobeat of Dirty Money by Antibalas, the progressive, psychedelic rock of Midlake, the uptempo Americana folk of Joana Serrat, and the  funk-soul of Charles Bradley.

Track 12 marks the electronica and dance section of the set beginning with the brilliant Slyd by !!! (chk chk chk) and continuing perfectly with Headbirds, and Factory Floor, which are all highlight tracks. The only place to go from there is to introduce some odd, experimental electronica courtesy of Demdike Stare. Then, in a 180 move, comes Cactus by Spain’s own Oso Leone –  a brilliant shimmering atmospheric, folk-rock number, which closes out disc one.

Disc 2 is certainly the rockier and edgier of the two discs. Beginning with the dreamy, jangle-pop of New Jersey’s Real Estate, the disc suitably progresses with Netural Milk Hotel, Ty Segall, and later, the post-hardcore rage of Touché Amoré, the punk-rock grit of The Julie Ruin (Kathleen Hanna), and closes with some visceral post-industrial noise courtesy of Wolf Eyes.

Highlights on Disc 2 include Comrade by Volcano Choir (who, of course, include Justin Vernon of Bon Iver), Remurdered by Mogwai, the gorgeous, spacey, krautrock-tinged synth-pop of Pional, Touché Amoré’s Is Survived By, the retro-psychedelia of Temples, and the unique post-rock / electro-rock sounds of Portugual’s Paus.

Arguably the compilation’s biggest act, Pixies deliver the monstrous Blue Eyed Hexe from 2014’s EP2. The inclusion of Fake Empire by The National from their stunning Boxer record of 2008 is a somewhat odd inclusion but nonetheless brings a welcome familiarity.

A most-pleasing compilation of diverse, eclectic sounds – each unique in their own right.

Rough Trade Shops Primavera Sound 2014 is available as a 2-disc set at Rough Trade Shops from May 12, and will be available on-site at Primavera Sound and as a general release May 26.

The full track listing is as follows:

1. Lee Ranaldo y los Dust – El Blues de la Revolución
2. Julia Holter – This Is A True Heart
3. Antibalas – Dirty Money
4. Midlake – The Old and the Young
5. Joana Serrat – Green Grass
6. Jagwar Ma – The Throw
7. Charles Bradley – We Do We Go From Here?
8. Majical Cloudz – Childhood’s End
9. John Grant – Black Belt
10. Grupo de Expertos Solynieve – Fandango de la Libertad
11. Blood Orange – Time Will Tell
12. !!! – Slyd
13. Headbirds – Sharon Highlights
14. Factory Floor – Turn It Up
15. Demdike Stare – Rain And Shame
16. Oso Leone – Cactus
17. Real Estate – Talking Backwards
18. Neutral Milk Hotel – In The Aeroplane Over The Sea
19. Ty Segall – The Man Man
20. Volcano Choir – Comrade
21. Mogwai – Remurdered
22. Paus – Bandeira Branca
23. The National – Fake Empire
24. Pional – Invisible/ Amenaza
25. The War On Drugs – Red Eyes
26. Pixies – Blue Eyed Hexe
27. Touché Amoré – Is Survived By
28. Refree – Kikiriki
29. Temples – Mesmerise
30. The Julie Ruin – Oh Come On
31. Wolf Eyes – Human Animal

Listen to Invisible / Amenaza by Pional below:

Watch the video for Dirty Money by Antibalas below:

Listen to Cactus by Oso Leone below: