Monthly Archive: September, 2013

Wild Swim – New Dawn (single) (Almanac Recordings)

“New Dawn” is the third single from Oxford five piece, Wild Swim. Produced by Steve Osborne (Simple Minds, Elbow, KT Tunstall, A-ha, New Order, Doves), the new single showcases the band’s complexity, maturity and top notch… Continue reading

Arctic Monkeys – AM (album) (Domino Records)

And the winner for Album of the Year is… Simply put, ‘AM’, the fifth studio album from Sheffield’s Arctic Monkeys, is nothing short of astounding. ‘AM’ is essentially a 70’s rock inspired album… Continue reading

Dog In The Snow – Fire In The Sky (single) (self-released)

“Fire In The Sky” is the new single from Brighton’s Helen Ganya Brown who records and performs music under the moniker of Dog In The Snow . Produced by long-term collaborator Steve Hillier… Continue reading

Midnight Davis – Severance (EP) (Five Easy Pieces)

Midnight Davis makes very peculiar music.  Just when you think you have a grasp of it, it seems to take another turn. ‘Severance’ is the new 5-track EP from the mysterious and little… Continue reading

Virginia Wing – Extended Play (EP) (Faux Discx)

Following on from their earlier tape and 7″ releases on SexBeat and Critical Heights, London psychedelic pop quartet Virginia Wing are gearing up to release their Faux Discx debut. Clocking in at a little… Continue reading

The Scholars – Neon Sky [Stars] (single) (self-released)

“Neon Sky (Stars)” is the new single from Oxford based indie-rock 3-piece, The Scholars. Since forming in 2008, the trio have received play on BBC Radio 1 and BBC6 as well as securing… Continue reading

Ponychase – Parade of Youth (single) (self-released)

What an absolutely cracking tune this one is! At the top of this year we were raving about the debut self-titled EP from Nashville synthpop act, Ponychase (read our review). An absolutely brilliant… Continue reading

Blank Maps – Lucky Dip (single) (Tiny Lights Recordings)

Following the emergence of two debut tracks earlier this year – “Everything Ends” and “Ornament” – Newcastle indie-rock act Blank Maps are preparing to release their debut single “Lucky Dip”, which is set for release… Continue reading

Suzuki Method – Sherbet (single) (A1M Records)

“Sherbet” is the second single taken from the upcoming ‘Native’ EP (artwork above), the debut release from Manchester indie-pop act, Suzuki Method. Just seconds into the song and you’ll think be sucked into… Continue reading

So Sexual – Slow (single) (Bleeding Gold Records)

“Slow” is the first track to surface from So Sexual’s upcoming 4-song EP, ‘Transient Scenes’ (artwork above). Back in March we reviewed the band’s brilliant debut single, “This Is How The Story Ends /… Continue reading