Au Revoir Simone – Move In Spectrums (album) (Moshi Moshi Records)


‘Move In Spectrums’ is the forthcoming new album from Au Revoir Simone, the follow up to 2009’s critically acclaimed, ‘Still Night, Still Light’.

The electronic dream pop act from Williamsburg, Brooklyn, New York, formed in late 2003 and comprise of Erika Forster, Annie Hart, and Heather D’Angelo. To date the trio have released three albums, the 2005 debut ‘Verses of Comfort, Assurance and Salvation’, 2007’s ‘The Bird of Music’ and the aforementioned ‘Still Night, Still Light’ in 2009. On the back of their previous record Au Revoir Simone toured all over the world and were involved in exciting collaborations with the likes of Air and Johnny Marr, and became the favorite band of legendary director David Lynch in the process. They tirelessly gave their all to audiences around the globe, filling rooms from Tokyo to Reykjavik, from Montreal to Sao Paolo. And when the touring cycle ended, they decided to each take their own path, unsure where the band would end up in the process.

So, then what? For Heather, this meant finishing an environmental biology degree at Columbia University that she had started around the time of the band’s inception. For Erika, this meant releasing a gorgeous solo album under her name, Erika Spring. For Annie, this meant touring with the likes of Uninhabitable Mansions and Pursesnatchers. Projects and collaborations, such as scoring a short film by Giada Colagrande for Miu Miu, would come up and bring the girls back together again, but for the most part, the future of Au Revoir Simone was still unclear.

Individually, they started writing again; collecting vintage keyboards again, focusing on the power of sounds and sine waves again. Eventually, they shared their creations with each other; the result produced the sort of excitement and magical chemistry that has always marked the friendship between these three ladies. They started playing together again, with all level of sonic experimentation happening, until they realized they were actually making a record. What commenced after that was the most intense, collective songwriting of their lives, revising and revamping every keyboard and vocal line until each song had a certain luster that matched the intensity and sheen of the band’s own passions.

And on September 23 we finally see the trio return in the form of a new 11-track album. A brilliant and fresh sounding record, ‘Move In Spectrums’ was produced by Jorge Elbrecht of Violens and sees the band in stunning form.

During the chorus of Goldfrapp-esque opening track “More Than”, Au Revoir Simone show hints of Warpaint set against a rich synth-driven sound. The magnificent “The Lead is Galloping” and “Just Like A Tree” recall Ladytron mixed with newcomers, Feathers with their synthpop goodness.

Guitars and bass take front stage on “Crazy“, which is most certainly destined to be the album’s big hit.  Impeccably crafted, delicious, sugar-coated pop with strong 80’s accents, “Crazy” draws to mind the much-talked about HAIM.

After the dreamy but hook-laden,” Somebody Who” the record, which started out as a joyous and uptempo affair, becomes less energetic, more subtle with its hooks, and eases up on the pop melodies. Instead the second half of the record focuses on atmosphere with understated vocal melodies.

Dreaminess goes into overdrive on “Boiling Point” and likewise the lush but minimal “Hand Over Hand”. Special mention must be made for the nostalgia-inducing and piano driven “Love You Don’t Know Me”, which exhibits a 70’s singer/songwriter type prowess.

The album’s final track, “Let The Night Win”, sees the band at their most experimental with sweeping synth arpeggios, buzzsaws, and glistening pads underneath a hushed and dreamy vocal.

‘Move In Spectrums’ offers a variety of moods and textures with with a vast colour palette, while overall fusing together a seamless and consistent body of work.

‘Move In Spectrums’ will be released on 23 September 2013 on Moshi Moshi Records.

Au Revoir Simone are currently offering the track “Somebody Who” as a free download. Listen and download below:

Watch the video for “Somebody Who” below: